Homepage banner 02.jpg


A programming arm of Portland, Oregon’s Creative Music Guild, the Extradition Series presents concerts and recitals that exist at the intersection of composition and improvisation, intentionality and chance, clarity and silence. Each performance blends the composer’s vision and the musicians’ creativity into a singular realization, creating a shared avenue of new musical exploration for both performers and audience.

Tightly curated for a holistic listening experience, our quarterly concerts and Recital Series events feature realizations of notated scores, text- and graphic-based works, and structured improvisations. Extradition seeks to be fully egalitarian in our programming, choosing compositions that offer the greatest musical possibilities irrespective of the composer’s relative fame or anonymity. An ongoing recording project documents both our live concerts and special non-concert performances, reaching a worldwide audience via our YouTube channel.

Quarterly concerts are held in January, April, July, and October. Recital Series events take place on an ad-hoc basis throughout the year.

Extradition has been the proud recipient of grants from Oregon’s Regional Arts & Culture Council (RACC) and the Oregon Community Foundation, whose support was invaluable in presenting our 2018 and 2019 seasons.

RACC and OCF logos.jpg


Drawing from Oregon’s classical, jazz, electronic, improvised, and traditional music communities, the Extradition Ensemble is a loose group of some three dozen musicians who come together in varying combinations depending on the needs of each composition. Core members of the ensemble include:

Matt Carlson – piano, electronics

Loren Chasse – percussion, sound

Brandon Conway – guitar

Lee Elderton – clarinet, soprano sax

Sage Fisher – harp

Mike Gamble – guitar

Matt Hannafin – percussion

Branic Howard – electronics, guitar, sound

Maxx Katz – flute

Juniana Lanning – electronics, percussion

Catherine Lee – oboe, oboe d’amore, English horn

Margaret McNeal – voice

Collin Oldham – cello


Dana Reason – piano

John C. Savage – flute, alto sax, tenor sax

Jonathan Sielaff – bass clarinet

Evan Spacht – trombone

Melanie Voytovich – percussion

Reed Wallsmith – alto sax



Matt Hannafin – curator and director

Branic Howard – recording engineer

Tim Westcott – live sound reinforcement